Thank You Pres. Cory Aquino

 

Time Woman of the Year (Jan. 1987) 

(Source: Time.com)

“The Filipino is worth living for” – Pres. Cory Aquino

Today, at about 3:00 am Manila time, former president Cory Aquino passed away. It came as a shock to me when I turned on the television and the very first thing I heard was the news about Pres. Aquino. Like millions of Filipinos, I have also been praying for her recovery and hoping that she survices from cancer. It seems that, even if I do not personally know her or her family, a part of me feels sad and emotional.

A million Thank Yous. To Pres. Aquino, I thank you for championing democracy. I thank you for being the hero for all Filipinos. I thank you for being brave in the face of adversity. I was still very young when the EDSA revolution took place but I will never forget that me and my generation are the beneficiaries of democracy. You are truly a great leader and hero who exhibited humility, transparency and courage.

When I wake up early tomorrow morning, I will run and I will wear my iamninoy shirt and I will wear it proud — Proud for being a part of a wonderful community and iconic figure.

My condolences to the family and relatives of Pres. Aquino. Her legacy will live with all of us forever.

Leave a Reply

